Supermarket Edible Plants

wpid-img_20150805_091055.jpg

This week I discovered something amazing!

I can grown herbs from the items that I buy from the supermarket 🙂

I had heard that you could do this while I was teaching a cooking class last week so I decided to put it to the test. While walking through the fruit and veg section of my local supermarket on my day off, I came across some loose spring onions with the roots still attached and decided to grab some to use for dinner that night as well as put the white section and roots of the spring onion in some water and see if they would sprout.

As soon as I chopped off the roots and put these babies in a glass with water I was filled with anticipation. Would I be able to successfully grow them? I had never been a great grower of plants in the past (to be honest most plants I’ve been given have died). For those of you that have been following my blog would know that I’ve just recently created a herb garden, and yes half of the plants have died however I know that the ones that have now survived will be bullet proof as they have escaped that clutches of death by what I like to call “Eloise’s not so green thumbs”.

Each day I lovingly looked over these little guys to make sure that they were getting the love and attention that they deserved. Each day I would put them out on the veranda to make sure they got some sunlight and in the afternoons I brought them inside so they didn’t feel the winter cold. As the days progressed I could see some little sprouts creeping up from the side of each of the spring onions, for some reason I could feel myself getting overly attached to these little guys, feeling like a proud parents watching their little ones growing up!

I knew by now that  if these spring onions would die on me I would certainly be devastated. I’m trying really hard with these little guys not to love them too much as I believe that last time I tried to grow something I was so scared that I would kill the plant that I loved the poor little herbs to death…. not good I know but give me a break as I’m new to this 🙂

Its now been five days since I started this experiment and I’m happy to inform you that the spring onions are doing extremely well and now also that some basil friends to keep them happy while they are growing. Then next question is how do I know when its time to plant these little herbs and what do I need to do to make sure that they are going to settle into their new place in my herb garden and grow up nice and strong?

I’m so happy that I’ve took on this challenge and I’m looking forward to seeing these little guys grow and not have to buy herbs from the supermarket every again.

11 comments

  1. Judy · August 5, 2015

    You are doing well.
    Once you have roots on your new plants it is time to pot them into some I dividual pots……cheapie from a 2 dollar shop or something, just a small pot with some seedling/cutting mix. Put the potting mix into the pot and water it well press it down well to settle the mix into the pot, then make a hole with something long and thin(knife blade is fine) and carefully plant each individual baby plant.
    Keep them watered but not soaked, keep doing your moving them out to sunlight for short periods and gradually increase the amount of sun exposure each few days. Once you have new growth on the cuttings and a good few centimetres of new green shoot I your spring onions you could transplant them to your herb bed.
    Remember to use your liquid seaweed fertiliser to keep your potted plants healthy.
    Good luck
    You are on your exciting gardening adventure

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Judy · August 5, 2015

    You can do the same with the base of a bunch of celery and get a whole new plant too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Santosh Namby · August 6, 2015

    Reblogged this on Santa's Reindeer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. agenda19892010 · August 7, 2015

    Happy Friday to you by Rinaldo ☺ .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. agenda19892010 · August 10, 2015

    Happy Monday ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · August 10, 2015

      Happy Monday!
      Have a great week blogging 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • agenda19892010 · August 10, 2015

        Grazie my friend 🙂 . as well to you too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. goodfoodwholelife · August 24, 2015

    Eloise, I have been successful with re-sprouting basil but I haven’t tried any other herbs, have you had success with others?

    Like

    • eloisesedibles · August 26, 2015

      The spring onions and basil are growing nicely goodfoodwholelife, but I haven’t been successful yet on anything else just yet as I haven’t been home enough to cater to a newly sprouting plant.
      I actually shared a poster on my Eloise’s Edibles Facebook page a couple of weeks ago to give some ideas on what you can regrow and how to do it.
      This might help you if you want to grow something else? Go and check it out 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

