No Mayo Slaw

wpid-20150519_124021.jpg

My partner doesn’t like mayonnaise so sometimes when I’m cooking for him and the family I have to get a little bit creative on the side dishes I create to keep everyone happy (I’m sure all families have this issue of different tastebuds). So when I had some left over cabbage in the fridge and a craving for coleslaw to be part of the dinner ritual that night (knowing full well I couldn’t put in a whole egg creamy mayonnaise into the dish), I decided to put my favourite dressing that I usually put on my salads through the slaw to see if the combination would work together. This as you can guess, turned out to be a huge success with the family and so I thought I would share this very easy but yummy No Mayo Slaw!

Makes: 4 medium sized side dish portions

Ingredients:

Slaw:

  • 200gm Red Cabbage
  • 200gm White Cabbage

Dressing:

  • 1TBSP Olive Oil
  • 1tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1tsp Dijon Mustard

Method:

  1. Finely slice red and white cabbage and place in a large bowl
  2. In a small conical bowl, measure out olive oil, white wine vinegar and Dijon mustard and with a small whisk combine ingredients until emulsified
  3. Add dressing onto cabbage and with your hands mix until combined
  4. Serve immediately
  5. Enjoy!
10 comments

  1. renxkyoko · May 20, 2015

    Good thing the dressing was a success. I do like mayo with my coleslaw ( just a small amount ) . I add pineapple tidbits ( canned , in heavy syrup ) with raisins, and chopped peanuts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · May 20, 2015

      Sounds delicious renxkyoko!
      Thanks for sharing 🙂

      Like

      • renxkyoko · May 20, 2015

        Thanks. Try it. Also I specified pineapple chunks or tidbits in HEAVY Syrup ( drained, of course ) because the pineapples in ” IN ITS OWN JUICE ” are too sour. Don’t forget the raisins ( put raisnis in bowl of water first for a few minutes to rehydrate ), and chop the peanuts,

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Flop til you drop "FTYD" · May 20, 2015

    Might have to try this. North Woods Inn (there are 4 restaurants in Southern CA) and pretty well-known establishment, log cabin with fake snow on the roof (sounds cheesy, and it is) but loved, has a yummy slaw salad just like this. I think theirs is similar to this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joseph Nebus · May 21, 2015

    No mayo? That seems … well, what a challenge. Huh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. loujenhaxmyor · May 30, 2015

    With those cabbages– that recipe sounds great.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. njmagas · June 2, 2015

    Actually, I was going to protest the no mayo coleslaw as a food impossibility, but dijon and white wine vinegar actually sounds delicious as a replacement! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

