Portuguese Inspired Lemon and Herb Marinade

wpid-2015-05-19-11.52.09.jpg.jpeg

I created this marinade when I was thinking of what I wanted for dinner and couldn’t decide between a lemon and herb chicken breast or something with a little kick of chilli. My inspiration was obviously from Nandos famous Portuguese chicken (although my version tastes different to the bottles you can buy but the spirit is there).

The thing that I love about this marinade is that once you have made it, you can put it on chicken, pork, fish or even add a little bit of it in a stir fry of vegetables while cooking!

I like to serve the chicken with my “Easy Peas Bean Salad” and “No Mayo Slaw” 🙂

Makes: approximately 300ml of marinade

Ingredients:

Meat:

  • 2 large chicken breasts

Marinade:

  • 50ml lemon juice
  • 1tsp lemon zest
  • 30gm fresh coriander
  • 10gm fresh basil leaves
  • 10gm fresh parsley
  • 1/2tsp ground cumin
  • 1tsp dried oregano
  • 50ml chicken stock
  • 40ml olive oil
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1 medium garlic clove
  • 1 red chilli

Method:

Make Marinade:

  1. Wash fresh herbs
  2. Scrape roots of coriander clean of thin whispy bits and roughly chop
  3. Remove leaves from the stems of the basil and parley and roughly chop
  4. Remove the skin of the garlic and roughly chop
  5. Zest and juice lemon
  6. Remove stalk of chilli and roughly chop (you can deseed the chilli as well if you don’t like your food to be too hot)
  7. Measure out and place all marinade ingredients above into a food processor and blend until combined

Marinate and Cook:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Place chicken breasts on 2 separate pieces of alfoil
  3. Pour over marinade and massage into meat
  4. Bring edges of the alfoil up towards the centre to create a parcel so the juices and marinade don’t escape while cooking
  5. Place the 2 chicken parcels in an oven proof dish
  6. Marinate chicken for at least an hour
  7. Once marinated, cook in the oven for 25 to 30 minutes or until the chicken breast is firm and springy to touch.
  8. Let chicken rest of 5 minutes
  9. Serve and enjoy!
14 comments

  1. Judy · May 19, 2015

    Oh yummy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ema Jones · May 19, 2015

    Lime/lemon gives a kick to the recipe, I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. K @ Peeled Wellness · May 20, 2015

    This sounds light and tasty! If you’re interested, I’d love for you to share a post at the a blog link up I’m hosting today. All you need is a URL of a post you’d like to contribute. It’s a great little circle of bloggers!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. christianliving2014 · May 29, 2015

    Awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loujenhaxmyor · May 30, 2015

    I’m a food guy who loves to cook. Many thanx for this recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. poeticice · June 1, 2015

    This looks awesome, I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for checking out my blog as well! I got a question, just how do you get so much traffic to your blog? (It looks great by the way!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · June 2, 2015

      Thank you 🙂
      Great question by the way!
      I like to get involved with the blogging community as much as I can. By this I mean reading all new blogs by the bloggers I’m following, always commenting and liking blogs I read (regardless if I follow them or not). Be warned…. you need to do this for at least an hour a day 🙂
      Your blogs great so keep up the great work!

      Liked by 2 people

  7. northernmalewhite · June 13, 2015

    Yum!
    thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  8. penneyvanderbilt · July 4, 2015

    Reblogged this on Crazy Pasta Child.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

