The Legacy – Cooking with Memories

wpid-rnk_wdiogrhm7vw28yxbrowoiyv1u8_rtesztsriyjkbj6nvml4m1al7hqtusgnxo_3c9huqmb_f2saut3prjhy1zkrxq8y_tmftj7t0mdmjdmkcvoplczxqiww443-h332-nc.jpeg.jpeg

What do you want your legacy to be?

What do you want people to remember about you after you’ve gone?

When I think about a person in particular that have influenced my love of food from an early age, I think about my grandfather who was a baker on Norfolk Island. Every time my brother and I went to stay at my grandparents place after school, I could always smell the aroma of freshly baked goods as we came up the drive way and into the doors of the house. I didn’t notice it then but now I see that the array of things he could make was incredible and the skill that he made them really confirmed why his food was not only loved by the family but the community as well. The crust on his pies, tarts and sausage rolls are always melt in your mouth and the fillings are always perfectly balanced and full of flavour!

Now as an adult, I have taken on the ideals that cooking represents love to me and I know when I create a meal from a family cookbook (from any side of the family) that its not just a dish that I am serving, it is a little piece of my memories and upbringing on a plate.

So when my grandparents started talking about what their legacy would be when they do unfortunately pass away one day, I immediately knew what I wanted from my grandfather to remember him by, his prized recipes that bring back so many happy childhood memories from me. Being the foodie that I am, there wasn’t a question in my mind that having the recipes meant more to me than words or trinkets could ever emotionally deliver.

Being who I am, I think that the recipes are the perfect way to kept the legacy of my grandfather alive as its something I can use. It won’t be sit on the shelves collecting dust and when I do make the beautiful cakes and tarts, I will remember sitting with my grandfather while he baked and watching with amazement as my senses went into over drive the amazing smells that were wafting around the house.

Coming from a family that love food, I take these legacy on with great pride and can’t wait to practice these amazing recipes so that I can now bring joy to my family as much as my grandfather has.

How will your family and friends remember you?

Will it be about the joy that you’ve created through your talents and will you inspire the next generation to show love through what they can create as well?

For me, I certainly hope I can achieve this!

wpid-ap4rfarpnwaigvslh1dikmexwzxrklkqm2ubfnv80mfdyvb4ct9cq77pxbh4p8fmqnduxxfphmaetzr0jzjxurfb4u1pb8qmwdrr7p5kfm96-1byvbdny3zjwpqw427-h344-nc.jpeg.jpeg

24 comments

  1. Ngobesing Romanus · May 12, 2015

    A lovely post. I like to be remembered as the man who spent his life inspiring and helping people to become what God created them to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · May 12, 2015

      What a lovely thought Ngobesing Romanus!
      You are an amazing person 🙂

      Like

      • Ngobesing Romanus · May 12, 2015

        Thank you Eloise. You post has inspired me to write a post in which I have mentioned you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • eloisesedibles · May 12, 2015

        Oh wow!
        Thank you 🙂

        Like

      • Ngobesing Romanus · May 12, 2015

        Did you read the article? The title is “The Issue of Talent”.

        Liked by 1 person

      • eloisesedibles · May 12, 2015

        Yes I did…. What a great read!!!!
        However I thought it was “The Issue of Legacy”?
        I like your post so much that I’ve actually shared your blog post on my Facebook page 🙂

        Like

      • Ngobesing Romanus · May 12, 2015

        You’ve done well. You wrote a great post I thought I should let others know about it and about you. Thanks indeed. By the way I love your continent/country – all surrounded by sea; and you do a lot of Agriculture I believe; and my wife is an agronomist.

        Liked by 1 person

      • eloisesedibles · May 15, 2015

        Thank you Ngobesing!
        That is such a lovely thing to say.
        It is a beautiful country have you ever visited? There is so much to see and do! I’m sure your wife would love to come and visit with you 🙂

        Like

      • Ngobesing Romanus · May 15, 2015

        Thanks for your lovely message Eloise. I hope one day to visit. As for my wife she’s applied for a scholarship to do a Masters in Agriculture but we do not know what the outcome will be. If it does work, that will be a great opportunity for her; and perhaps also for me. We are keeping our fingers crossed. Have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy · May 12, 2015

    That is such a beautiful and heartfelt post, brimming over with memories. I can nearly taste the sausage rolls and smell the aromas wafting up the drive. What wonderful memories.
    I have never really thought of how my loved ones will remember me. Hopefully as a person with a loving heart. Most likely as being slightly different to the norm. Oh well, I guess I will just be remembered as me.

    Liked by 2 people

    • eloisesedibles · May 15, 2015

      Being remembered as you instead of fake you is the best thing you can be remembered as I believe 🙂
      I know what I would remember you by… but you might just have to wait and read 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. TextileRanger · May 28, 2015

    My grandmother had a notebook of all the recipes she had clipped out of newspapers, or had gotten from friends and relatives. I scanned each and every page and saved it as a computer file. Then I added digital art and printed out the pages, and added food stickers, etc., and created three copies so my mom and sister could have Gram’s recipes too. Some of them are unbelievable – hot dog, potato, and sauerkraut bake is one that comes to mind. But they are priceless because they are from her.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. christianliving2014 · June 8, 2015

    Great post. I would like to be remembered for encouraging people and loving and helping people. I would like to be a light for God. I hope you have a wonderful day. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. southamptonoldlady · June 22, 2015

    This is such an important post. Diagnosed with Cancer (my life has been saved now) I had an urge to get all my recipes together – to do more art – to make a scrapbook on tips of life for my then 14 year old daughter. I don’t know how many times I had tried to bring our family recipes together – laptops crashed – files had mildew – bits of paper got lost. Try to record what you are good at.

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · June 23, 2015

      Thank you so much for sharing! It sounds like its been a struggle and you are an inspiration to us all! It is so important to finish your family recipes for the legacy to live on 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. southamptonoldlady · June 22, 2015

    Reblogged this on SNIPS & SNAPS and commented:
    I don’t know how many times I have attempted to gather family and friends recipes together – laptops crashed – files became mildewed – bits of paper got lost. Whatever your legacy – try to pass on what you are good at.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. wigsbabe · July 22, 2015

    I’ve been collecting and writing down recipes from my family members for quite sometime. They are hidden in a box for my daughters some day. We are just beginning to teach them the old ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. allaboutcheryl · September 24, 2015

    Months ago, I started working on my family cookbook. I wanted my siblings, nephews and nieces to contribute to it. I wanted their favorite recipes and why. Pictures. Antidotes. Memories….but I got busy and stopped working on it. Thank you for encouraging me to start again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · September 26, 2015

      I really hope you finish it allaboutcheryl. The family cookbook is so important…. What a lovely idea of involving the nieces and nephews on why a certain recipe is their favorite!

      Liked by 1 person

      • allaboutcheryl · September 26, 2015

        I wanted this to truly be a Family Cookbook. One that we all had a part in creating…

        Liked by 1 person

      • eloisesedibles · September 27, 2015

        Absolutely inspiring 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • allaboutcheryl · September 27, 2015

        My hubby and I are currently on an extended Sabbatical (See mybucketlisttravels.wordpress.com). But I have the beginnings of my cookbook saved on a flash drive that I brought with me. So, no excuses! Again….thank you for inspiring me💐

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

