The Spaghetti Squash Experiment

wpid-20150412_130938.jpg

Yesterday I got a bit creative, my partner and I went to Fresh Provisions (a provedore down the road from us) and I ended up buying a whole bunch of fabulous, yet unusual produce to play around with.

One thing I picked up and took home with me was a spaghetti squash (or as the packaging states…. natures spaghetti). As soon as I saw this beautiful yellow vegetable, I immediately wanted it and  I thought about what excuse I could come up with to give my partner (who can be a fussy eater) so that I could have my way and take it home with us to try. I came up with “spaghetti squash spaghetti bolognese” for dinner (try saying that team times over!). I must have caught him at a weak moment or the fact that when I go into these types of places I’m like a kid in a candy store and he loves to see me happy but he said yes to trying it with me for dinner…. success!!

 Now I haven’t had a lot of experience with this unusual vegetable so I decided to do a bit of research before I started cooking dinner. One site recommended that I chop the squash in half, roast it in the oven in a baking dish with water and covered with foil to help it steam. “What a great idea” I thought to myself until I tried to physically cut the squash in half and realised that this vegetable had a very hard outside so I gave up on that idea.

The next site I looked at said to put the squash in the microwave and cook it that way however I had images of this beautiful vegetable splattered all through my microwave as it had exploded plus I didn’t want to use the microwave to cook (not very inventive and I was in an inventive mood).

Donna Hay suggested that you boil the squash until tender but you must make sure that you have a heat proof dish to hold the squash under water as it cooks. Another great idea until I looked at the size of the vegetable (which is rather large) and trying to find a heat proof dish that would be big enough to fit in the pot so the squash doesn’t come to the surface would be a bit of a challenge plus I had visions of burning myself trying to get the heat proof dish out of the water after the squash had been cooked.

So after looking at numerous sites, and reading the opinions of others that had tried the methods I decided to come up with my own and here it is!

Eloise’s Edibles Experiment on How to Cook Spaghetti Squash

You will need:

  • 1 Large Spaghetti Squash
  • 2 Cups of Water
  • 1 Large Baking Tray
  • Alfoil
  • Oven preheated to 200 degrees
  • Chopping board and chefs knife
  • Dessert spoon
  • Fork
  • 2 TBSP Oil
  • Salt & Pepper

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 200 degrees
  2. Place whole spaghetti squash in baking tray with water and cover with alfoil
  3. Place in oven for approximately 30 minutes or until the outside of the squash has softened enough to cut through
  4. Remove squash from the oven and cut in half (keep the baking tray and water, you’ll need it again)
  5. Using the dessert spoon, scoop out the seeds and set seeds aside (you can roast these for a snack)
  6. Place squash back in baking tray with the flesh facing down into the water and cover with foil.
  7. Place baking tray back into the oven for 30 minutes or until the flesh starts to pull away from the outside husk.
  8. Once cooked, remove squash from the baking tray and using the fork, scrape out flesh
  9. Mix with oil and season with salt and pepper
  10. Enjoy!

What I discovered:

  1. The strands of the squash don’t really come out like long spaghetti pieces. Its more like cut up bits of spaghetti (not necessarily a bad thing)
  2. The taste is surprisingly similar to spaghetti with just a little hint of squash so that you can tell its not really the “real deal” if you don’t mix your sauces through the squash before plating it.
  3. The texture is similar to spaghetti that has been cooked al dente
  4. It takes time to cook the squash but I found that my partner preferred it to me using “zucchini spaghetti” so if you can have enough patience while it cooks, give it a try!

4 comments

  1. midmiocene · April 14, 2015

    Never could figure out how something like spaghetti can come from a gourd like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bec · May 2, 2015

    Great idea, will have to see if I can find some locally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

