Ol Faithful Fridge

wpid-20150303_105411.jpg

Does anyone have an ol faithful fridge at home?

You know the one that you bought (or given to you when you moved out of home) that just doesn’t seem to die?

Its had a place in the Aussie home since I can remember. It maybe your everyday fridge or the extra fridge in your entertainment area for those times when you need some extra cooling space for all the food and drinks. Our ol faithful fridge is our everyday fridge, like most couples, my partner and I started with nothing and was given the fridge as it was cluttering up the entertainment area of another persons place.

This fridge went through a mini reincarnation by starting off as a everyday family fridge, to a beer/entertainment fridge and then back to being a household fridge again. Now we love this fridge and are very grateful to have it however it does demand a bit more maintenance than the new/modern fandangle fridges of today. Like all old things, it has a bit of personality about it and stubbornly needs to be de-iced once a month on regular use so when my partner and I go away for more than a week, we will come back to finding it almost iced shut.

This is what happened recently when we went away to Brisbane for a couple of weeks, we found that after coming home to Perth that the fridge had decided to ice up in protest for leaving it alone in the house so my first day back consisted of me spending all morning off de-icing and throwing all items that were unsalvageable.

Now, you have to understand that unusually I like to clear out the clutter in my fridge and give it a clean even 2 weeks however I am never a fan of defrosting the fridge every month. The ice is always so thick and messy and removing the ice is so loud that it sounds like I’m doing construction in the apartment instead of removing ice from an appliance.

Living in an apartment that is on top of a business, I’m always so paranoid of how much noise I’m making during the hours of 9am to 5pm which amplifies to my discomfort of defrosting the fridge.

I think I should probably put “buy a new fridge” as one of my big ticket items to purchase this year…..

10 comments

  1. quintanj1 · March 3, 2015

    Like your post a lot, and I also dislike defrosting the refrigerator. And a new one would be nice to avoid defrosting but the new ones don’t last as long as the ones we grew up with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · March 3, 2015

      Thank you quintanj1
      It’s certainly a pet hate that we can relate to!
      I do love the old fridge and would probably still keep it if we buy a new one as it’s handy to have spare 🙂
      I’m so glad that you enjoyed reading my post.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. judithwill56 · March 3, 2015

    Go for it hon…..new fridge, with ice maker and cold water.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. coffeegrounded · March 3, 2015

    Oh Sweetie, if it’s not broke, hang on to it! I’m on my third refrigerator since moving to this house almost 19 years ago. They simply do not make things to last any more.

    I had to chuckle reading the bit about your fear of noise during working hours. I once lived above a lady who had a ghastly temper. Simply emptying the dishwasher or closing a door would set her off.

    Like

  4. bobleponge216 · March 3, 2015

    When the current laydee of the house moved in, one of the bargaining points was her having a large fridge. There was already a fridge in the house, but a large spare beer fridge, in the laundry room, filled to the brim with my favourite tipple was a real winner as far as I was concerned. She’d owned the fridge for several years, she’s now been here five years and “ole faithful” still runs, always full of beer, a permanent reminder of the day she turned up.

    Like

  5. jeanaux · March 4, 2015

    Hey check your seals – it could be icing up for no bigger reason that those are cracked or broken. If you replace them it could solve most of your problems and tide you over till you find the perfect fridge (or create the perfect home for beer).

    Like

  6. imho2013 · March 10, 2015

    I agree with jeanaux. Treat Ol’ Faithful to some new seals. A simple and inexpensive DIY. When done, enjoy a beer or white wine from your like new, frost free fridge.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. tuinkabouter1965 · March 19, 2015

    Hahaha iced shut…sounds like my fridge 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · March 19, 2015

      Haha! I’m glad your fridge has the same problems as mine. It certainly brings character to an appliance doesn’t it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • tuinkabouter1965 · March 19, 2015

        It sure does!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

