Recipe – Sensational Summertime Frappe

wpid-20150108_095006.jpg

It was a balmy 44°C over in Perth on Monday and as it was my last day of holidays, I decided to escape the heat by making some cool deliciousness in my favourite room in the house… that’s right… the kitchen.

Frappes are great to use up any of the older fruit that is leftover in your fridge at the end of the week (the older the fruit, the more intense of the flavour) and if you freeze all of your fruit before blending, you wont have to use any ice.

Making a lovely little treat like this on a hot day really picks up your spirits and gives you a new burst of energy!

Makes: 1 litre

Ingredients:

  • 2 frozen mango cheeks (approximately 250gm per cheek)
  • 1 large ripe banana (approx 500gm)
  • 1/2 cup frozen Goji berries
  • 1/2 cup frozen Blueberries
  • 1 cup orange and Mango juice
  • 1 cup Cranberry juice

Method:

  1. Place tall glasses for serving in the freezer to cool while making the frappe
  2. Chop frozen mango into 3cm cubes and place in 1 Litre blender jug
  3. Roughly chop banana into 1 cm slices and place in blender jug
  4. Add Goji berries and blueberries and juices in the blender jug and blend until smooth
  5. Pour into tall cooled glass and enjoy straight away
  6. Enjoy!

 

16 comments

  1. rosemaylily2014 · January 8, 2015

    It certainly was a hot day wasn’t it?! Fortunately much more pleasant now 🙂 The Frappe recipe looks delicious and I will definitely try it out thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · January 8, 2015

      Yes it certainly was and I hope you stayed cool throughout the day!
      It’s my pleasure, I really hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • rosemaylily2014 · January 9, 2015

        We have air con in part of the house but I did have to go out and about for a while and it really hit when you got out of the car – fortunately it was only one day though! I’m sure we’ll enjoy the Frappe an excellent idea! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jono · January 9, 2015

    I like to take all the cereal/fruit/yogurt/milk that I would normally have in a bowl for breakfast, then put it in a blender and make a smoothy! Tastiest breakfast ever.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. brendamarroy · January 9, 2015

    Yummy. I make a protein, kale, coconut milk, tart cherry juice, frozen berries, and ripe banana smoothie every morning. It helps me start my day with a smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · January 9, 2015

      Sounds delightful!
      It’s great to do something for yourself everyday that contributes to you starting your day off on the right track like your yummy smoothie isn’t it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jmsabbagh · January 9, 2015

    Good morning,delicious post makes the morning smile.Jalal

    Liked by 1 person

  5. judithwill56 · January 14, 2015

    Yummo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. afracooking · January 15, 2015

    After you dropped me such a nice line I just had to come check out your blog! Fabulous recipes! I love this one. Despite the fact that it is grey and cold over here…. or maybe not ‘despite’ but ‘because’ as this posts holds all the promise of summer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · January 15, 2015

      Oh I’m so glad that you’ve come to visit my blog also 🙂
      Thank you for checking out my recipes. I hope that when the weather heats up, you might be able to try the frappé (it’s divine! ).

      Like

  7. crumpledpapercranes · January 15, 2015

    I think this is a promising stress reliever any time of year. Personally, I love cold drinks regardless of the weather outside. That being said, I’ll probably go to the grocery store later tonight and try this out. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · January 15, 2015

      That’s great to hear 🙂
      I usually like to match my drink with the weather however I’m fairly certain that I could have this frappé all year round as it’s delicious 🙂
      I’m so glad you enjoyed reading the recipe. Let me know how you go!

      Like

  8. sonsothunder · January 15, 2015

    What a refreshing recipe… I bet the finished product taste great to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · January 15, 2015

      It’s so yummy!
      I’m in love with recipe 🙂
      So simple yet so delicious!

      Like

Leave a Reply

