New Year! New Rotisserie!

wpid-2015-01-02-09.16.24.jpg.jpeg

So another year has come and gone and boy oh boy did that go quickly :-/

On New Years Eve my partner and I found ourselves childless so we decided to partake in the New Years celebrations and of course some drinking. We didn’t go out though, we stayed home and invited our 2 very good friend’s over for dinner and drinks and to mark the occasion, we decided to buy ourselves a new toy for the BBQ in the form of a rotisserie.

On the way home from the BBQs Galore down the road, we stopped at the shops to buy a chicken to test out this new contraption that we had just purchased. My job when we came home was to get the chicken prepared and my partners job was to construct the rotisserie.

I decided to go for a lemon and herb Portuguese style of marinade for the chicken. I opened up the packet of the free range chicken and arranged the wings so they crossed (and giggled to myself as they always remind me of someone lounging when you put them in this position), cut the legs open slightly to ensure even cooking time and scored a lemon on either ends to allow for the rotisserie skewer to pass through easily before I placed it up the chickens neither regions.

“Now to start one the marinade” I thought to myself.

While  I was in the kitchen, my partner was still going with the great rotisserie construction of 2014. Now I’m not sure if anyone has a partner who HATES constructing anything but my lovely man is one of these people so for him to attempt this was a goliath battle! Credit to him though, there was no swearing which I was surprised about but there was a lot of staring blankly at the instructions with an intense expression on his face for a rather  long period of time.

We finally got the chicken and rotisserie organised and cooked the chicken low and slow for 3 hours while basting it every half an hour with the lemon and herb marinade that I had made earlier. It came out succulent, flavourful and juicy!

What more could you ask for from a new cooking toy right 🙂

20131225_092339

Cheers to the new year!!!!!!

7 comments

  1. Terry · January 2, 2015

    Happy New Year

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Food Everyday · January 5, 2015

    Happy new year, love rotisserie cooked foods 🙂

    Like

    • eloisesedibles · January 5, 2015

      Happy New Year to you too!
      Yes, I have now found a new and wonderful thing to cook with.
      Just perfect 🙂

      Like

  3. Debunker · January 13, 2015

    As a foodie myself, I’m jealous. Fortunately, I’m fairly sure coveting thy neighbour’s rotisserie is not specifically mentioned in Scripture, so that’s alright then … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · January 13, 2015

      Haha very true!
      It’s certainly an awesome new toy for the bbq and yes we are very fortunate that it is not specifically mentioned in scripture 🙂

      Like

  4. Debunker · January 15, 2015

    Maybe it’s in Ainsley Harriott’s Barbecue Bible … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

