Healthy and Tasty Baked Chicken

Spiced Chicken

This week I found myself craving the dreaded KFC (probably because we live right next door to one and every time I went outside, the smell would wash over me like a nagging reminder that I cannot have it at the moment).

So as any stubborn food-a-holic on a diet, I decided to try to make a healthier crunchy coating for my chicken with a bit more flavour and I have to say, it was pretty good and certainly helped with the lingering smells of KFC from next door!

Now please note I was not trying to recreate KFC but instead trying to find a healthy alternative that tastes great with a healthy, crunchy coating (and I am happy to report that I have succeeded in my quest yay).

Minutes to Prepare: 10

Minutes to Cook: 45

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken thighs (cut into 1/2 inch even medallions) or 18 chicken winglets
  • 1 ½ cup full cream milk or coconut cream
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1 tsp. ground white pepper
  • 1 tsp Murray River pink salt
  • 1 tsp. poultry seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp. sweet  Spanish paprika
  • 1½ tsp. ground garlic
  • 1½ tsp. ground onion
  • 1 ½ tsp. ground mustard seed
  • ½ tsp. ground thyme
  • ½ tsp. dried basil
  • ½ tsp. dried tarragon
  • ½ tsp. dried oregano
  • ½ tsp. ground ginger
  • ¼ cup coconut oil melted in the microwave

 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees
  2. Soak chicken in milk/coconut cream for at least 1 hour (longer if possible, up to 3 hours is better)
  3. Pour melted coconut oil into a lipped baking dish lined with foil.
  4. In a large, shallow bowl, mix all dry ingredients together.
  5. Take each piece of chicken and shake off excess milk/coconut cream, and dip into flour mixture. Flip it until it’s covered in the mixture. Place each piece of chicken in prepared baking dish, making sure not to overlap pieces.
  6. Bake for approximately 30 minutes, then flip each piece.
  7. Bake for another 15 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink and cover with foil to rest for 10 minutes. Cut into a few pieces to ensure they are cooked thoroughly, and the juices run clear.
  8. Serve and enjoy!
15 comments

  1. Arielle Tan · November 8, 2014

    Looks really good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. iamrorykelly · November 9, 2014

    After consuming a full family bucket on my own about 10 years ago I have never set foot inside a KFC since! Great recipe 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. earthlyradiance · November 9, 2014

    I love the smell of that nasty place too. I can’t help myself! Thank you for the healthier recipe. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • eloisesedibles · November 9, 2014

      Yes
      I think the smell is sometimes a lot better than the taste though but it has been driving me crazy this week 🙂
      I hope you enjoy the recipe!

      Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · November 9, 2014

      Oh wow! Yes I could imagine that eating so much KFC would

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jmsabbagh · November 9, 2014

    Worth the time to prepare it ,Thank you for sharing. Warm regards.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. followechoes · November 12, 2014

    Its been years since I had a KFC. Your recipe sounds much more divine (and better for you) 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Glenn Hefley · November 17, 2014

    So ready to eat now.. think that would do for Breakfast?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sophie33 · December 10, 2014

    I made your delectable recipe & loved every bite, so did my hubby Peter! So delicious too! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • eloisesedibles · December 10, 2014

      Oh that’s wonderful! I’m so glad you both enjoyed it!!
      It’s such a lovely little recipe and great option from a more greasy alternative 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

