Week 1 – Post Holiday Diet of a Food-a-holic

Frangipane Tart with Mocha Sauce

So I’ve survived the first week of my post holiday diet (YAY) and I thought instead of focusing on sharing what I ate/ cooked or what exercises I did (because lets face it there is enough people writing about this), I thought I would share one crucial food related obstacle I overcame during the week as this seems to be the biggest area that I struggle with being a confessed food-a-holic.

This week it was all about the headaches!!!! Man oh man did I GET THEM BAD as my body went into sugar withdrawals from the lovely sweets and alcohol that I had indulged in over my holiday (serves me right).

Thankfully even though the headaches were bad, they came in waves so I could get a break and focus on how beautiful life is again once the throbbing pain on the side of my head subsided. Although in saying this I do remember there was one day in particular that I couldn’t shake my headaches, it would go from subtle and manageable to so bad that I couldn’t focus on any task at hand rendering me useless to anyone I came in contact with.

The sugar cravings/headaches did have a positive, I started looking up what to eat when you are craving sugar and I found that a lot of websites recommend the following foods:

  • nuts
  • pumpkin seeds
  • lima beans
  • spinach
  • brown rice
  • tofu
  • fresh fruits
  • broccoli
  • avocado
  • coconut oil
  • flaxseed
  • sweet potato’s
  • eggs

Even though my sugar cravings weren’t terrible, I found that adding more of the above foods into my diet helped slightly with my headaches (especially the foods with good fats).

Water was also a saving grace, I found that if I stuck to my goal of 2 litres a day, it helped me focus on something other than the headaches and also filled me up a bit so that I wasn’t hungry in-between meals.

By the end of the week I was still having headaches but they were coming few and far between. Hopefully this week I can conquer my headaches and by recording my little wins each week will keep me motivated when I start to really struggle with the whole reality that I cant eat whatever I want and still stay in shape!

16 comments

  1. foodisthebestshitever · November 3, 2014

    I don’t love those withdrawals from the excesses of a damn good holiday too much at all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. missraychanel84 · November 3, 2014

    Good luck on beating down those headaches! I remember once I got headaches from chocolate withdrawal. That was terrible! Took me a while to figure out the problem, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    • eloisesedibles · November 3, 2014

      Thanks so much! Hopefully this week will be better for headaches 🙂 I’m feeling positive it will be! How did you overcome your headaches?

      Liked by 1 person

      • missraychanel84 · November 9, 2014

        Honestly, I can’t remember. This was quite some time ago. I just remember them fazing out on their own. I don’t recall it taking long either.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. sophisticatedjerseygirl · November 3, 2014

    I totally understand the eating thing. I keep telling myself that I’m walking so much more here in Spain than I did at home, but I’m also eating so much more. It’s really hard not to stop at every bakery and gelato stand! It’s definitely time for me to make a plan and stick to it. I also agree with water. It can be hard to remember, but when you drink enough you feel so much better!

    Liked by 2 people

    • eloisesedibles · November 3, 2014

      I totally agree and know where you are coming from about the temptations! I could imagine how amazing that the bakeries and gelato stands are in Spain (I would be exactly the same). I believe you know when you are ready to make a change and I know how hard it is but I really hope that it is worth the struggle 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. bobleponge216 · November 3, 2014

    I seem to get headaches most Saturday mornings, I’m fairly sure there must be a reason??
    Good luck with your continued quest though, far more fortitude than I.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. candycoatedculinista · November 4, 2014

    I hope your headaches go away, and the water is definitely the right start. Two litres a day is amazing and will keep you well hydrated. I wish I drank that much water a day.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. MyKabulKitchen · November 6, 2014

    Your post could not be more relevant, I have been trying to start a diet BEFORE my holidays (so I can enjoy then) but it seems impossible because the only thing that motivates me to study is good food! I have found nuts, yogurt, and beans are great ways to avoid my temptations…hope that helps 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • eloisesedibles · November 6, 2014

      Thanks so much!
      Yes I completely agree, nuts, yogurt and beans are great to munch on when you feel the snacking coming on 🙂
      Good luck on your diet, I know you can do it and I hope you have a wonderful time on your holidays!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. cliffsofdover123 · November 24, 2014

    Liked =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

