Dinner at Breakfast Creek?!!

Steak

Don’t mind if I do!

It’s the first day of our holidays and my partner and I have come off a red eye flight from Perth. We had been sleeping for most of the day and now we have woken up with a massive appetite!

Thank goodness my parents (who we are staying with) suggested going for a Sunday session and dinner at the iconic Breakfast Creek Hotel. Now I know what you’re thinking, it’s an odd name for somewhere that we will be going for dinner. In fact my partner keeps making dad jokes about having dinner at breakfast (yes very funny I know) but in all seriousness, the Breakfast Creel Hotel has a reputation within the local Brisbane community as having a fabulously relaxing atmosphere and some of the best steaks so if you’re a foodie like myself who appreciates a good quality steak, then this place must be on your hit list when you visit.

After walking through the entrance past the life sized painted sculpture of a cow, you walk into the restaurant section of space that is decorated in a relaxed Spanish garden theme. As we sit down we are greeted by our lovely waitress for the night. She first asks us what we would like to drink while she hands out the menus and explains the specials. After taking our drink orders she disappears to another table.

The atmosphere allows you to relax and chat; even though it was busy while we were there we didn’t have to strain ourselves to hear each other’s conversations. After a brief period of time our waitress arrives back at our table to take our orders. As you could imagine 99% of us at the table ordered steak plus my partner and I decide to try something new, a beer loaf with herbed butter, I mean why not? After all we are on holidays!

My family, my partner and I sit and chat for a while catching up on what we have all been doing since we saw each other last, waiting for our order to be processed and cooked. It was a fairly busy night so it took about 45 minutes for our food to come to the table which we didn’t mind as we had a lot of catching up to do!

As the food was placed on our table we could smell the mouth watering freshness of the beer bread that had just come out of the wood fire oven and the smokiness of the steak that had just come off the grill. As I took my first mouth full of the bread, I couldn’t really taste the beer flavour however the herbed butter had a lovely hint of dill in it which I was really surprised about. Next was time to tuck into my steak, it was juicy and you could tell that it was a good quality with a powerful charred and smoky flavour.

Even though the food was great and the service was good, for me a night out like this is more than just the food. It’s about who we are with at the time that makes the experience memorable.

I have grown up loving food (so much that I have made a career out of it) and that come from my family. Some of my fondest memories throughout my life was spending it with the people we love and being brave and trying something new.

Food can have a huge affect on the way we feel, our emotions and our outlook on life and for this I will always love and respect food for what it is!

3 comments

  1. deliciouslynell · October 27, 2014

    Sounds lovely. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bowlingchef · November 18, 2014

    being a chef myself for the last 37 years, yes food is a lot more than just shoving it done your throat, just to fill your tummy, it is just one more thing we have taken for granted in this society. good read thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

