Critics Corner – Flying High At The Airline Lounge

food;

Going through the automatic glass doors to the concierge desk at the front of the lounge I am immediately greeted by the smell of the food that awaits me. As my partner and I move through the room, he asks me where I would like to sit and my immediate reaction is to follow my stomach and my nose and sit as close as possible to the  buffet style selection of food without compromising a comfy seat. We got here early as it gives me time to explore and savour as much as the food as possible. It’s also not very busy in the lounge tonight which is great as you feel like the chefs have prepared all this food just for little old you!

So while  I sit here waiting for our plane to Brisbane from Perth,I can’t help but be distracted by the food and feel a little bit special as this is something that not a lot of people get to experience very often if at all.

As I make my way up to the food lay up, my nose is gently tickled by the array of yumminess that awaits me. I’ve been to the lounge a number of times now and I have noticed that apart from the soup and one main dish selection, the food doesn’t really change.You know that your old faithful dish that you like (mine being the tuna salad and the hummus with crudités) will always be there to greet you like a long lost friend.

Food Buffet

The menu reads:

  • Chicken Tagine
  • Cream of corn soup with sprig onions and crispy fried shallots
  • MYO Toasted Sandwiches – GF bread available on request
  • Virginia Ham
  • Tuna Salad
  • Five bean and corn salad
  • Pasta salad with sundried tomato pesto
  • Cabbage and red radish slaw
  • Radicchio, cos lettuce and radish salad
  • Balsamic, ranch, herb and honey mustard dressings
  • Crudité and crackers with hummus dip
  • pecan and date slice
  • spiced popcorn

“Yes” I say to myself as I read that my two favourite items are available for me to munch on to my hearts content. I pick up the only plate size available (which is a side plate) and make my way along the line. I’m feeling a bit adventurous tonight so I pick myself up the soup (even though I’m not a huge fan of soups but you never know it could be good) with a small bread roll and two individual packs of butter (because you can never have enough butter on your bread), the pasta salad, cabbage and red radish slaw and my two favourite dishes, the tuna salad and the crudités with hummus and with my mini plates on hand I make my way back to the comfy seat waiting for me.

The food is not designed to be a main meal and is offered to you on a side plate sized dish. However I like this idea as it allows you to grab a little bit of food at a time and doesn’t give you an opportunity to over load your plate (as I do when exposed to a free meal).

I decide to throw caution to the wind and take my first taste of the cream of corn soup. There are very  lovely subtle flavours and no real punch which is what you would expect when catering for the masses. However I did find that I could only have a couple of mouthfuls as the texture started to get to me (as it is one of the things I don’t like about soups) and I decided to move onto to cabbage and red radish slaw which I was pleasantly surprised by. It was still a subtle flavour but it also was crunchy and fresh on the pallet.

I don’t know if you have noticed but food comes in and out of fashion in the industry (yes, just like cloths) and radish is no exception to this. When I was a child you could find radish in any salad or as a decorative piece on the side of your plate if you where out in a restaurant. They were everywhere, then all of a sudden they disappeared of the face of the earth and its only until recently that they have been making a come back (go radish! go!).

The pasta salad was next on my hit list, it had rather large chunks of eggplant and a zingy tomato pesto.

My two favourite dishes were last, I deliberately do this as I love to finish on a high note every time I’m here. The tuna salad had little complex hits of lemon, mayonnaise and onion. This mix of flavours is always a marriage made in heaven and lifts the dish. The hummus was fresh and you could tell it was made by hand as it had some texture and a subtle hint of garlic which the crudités offered a sweet  contrast between the flavour of the hummus.

Feeling rather satisfied with my selection of food tonight, I surveyed the empty dishes in front of me. There has been a great menu to feed the masses of people that come through the doors each day. Its a difficult task to please everyone as all tastebuds are different so subtle is best! As my partner and I leave the lounge to head for the plane, we both agree that its the perfect way to start a little get away.

2 comments

  1. K. / Pure & Complex · October 17, 2014

    You both are right, that is the perfect start to a plane ride. Riding a plan should be the way it used to be, grand, relaxing, and wonderful. Great post and that menu sounds amazing

    Liked by 2 people

    • eloisesedibles · October 17, 2014

      Thanks so much for visiting my site and I’m glad you enjoyed the posts 🙂
      I totally agree with you. Going on a plane should be a special thing to do!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

