Party Planning

image

What do you like to do for your birthday celebrations?

For my freinds and I it’s usually spoiling ourselves by getting dressed up and going out for a fancy dinner (along with a few wines and cocktails). This is how I got into the position of sitting in front of my computer staring at different restaurants that offer a degustation menu.

For those of you who don’t know what degustation is, it is a French term that allows chefs and restaurants to showcase thier signature dishes through multiple courses and is usually paired with wines from a sommelier. If you are at a good degustation then you should be using your sense of taste, sight and smell throughout the experience. Pretty awesome hey!

Anyway! One of my friend’s birthdays is coming up and she has recruited me to help her find a lovely degustation place to go for a “birthday girls night out”.

Now I love this stuff (which why it wasn’t hard for her to convince me to help). It makes me feel like a foodie detective trying to find the hidden clues in the menu that will make the ultimate girls birthday night out. What more of a present could you give someone than an amazing birthday right?!

However there is a catch. I find it hard to choose from each menu as I just want it all and that is why I’m not the best person to leave in charge of making the final decision.

So far I have looked at:
Wild Duck
Print Hall
Petite Morte
Restaurant Amuse
Opus Restaurant

For me it is all about exploring the amazing creativity that comes in planning a dish and that wow factor when your courses are placed in front of you.

Sending these to my friend I know she is going to have a hard time deciding where she would like to go for her birthday (they all look great and I would eventually like to try them all).

Our little adventure had just begun so look out for the second chapter of the great birthday degustation hunt!

Leave a Reply

