The Little Things

My partners beautiful dinner he prepared for me. Its the little things in life that we do for one another that sometimes makes the biggest impacts

My partners beautiful dinner he prepared for me. Its the little things in life that we do for one another that sometimes makes the biggest impacts

Stepping through the door after a long, hard day at work, I am greeted by the lingering smell of dinner and big hugs from the girls. My poor partner is rushing around the kitchen in organised chaos trying to organise dinner for the fourRE of us which anyone with a family knows this feeling and has seen this routine way to often.

If your anything like me, my first instinct is to jump in and help my partner however every time I go into the kitchen, he ushers me out. This is his way of showing me that he cares and that’s its ok to stop and relax (something that I’m not very good at).

After 15 minutes of banging and crashing from the kitchen followed by 5 minutes of silence, I hear him say that dinner is ready. I walk into the kitchen to find my partner with his hands on his hips, chest puffed out and a very proud grin on his face and I can see instantly why. He not only has made dinner but he has made the plate look pretty.

He has created a small mound of Mediterranean cous cous on the side of the plate with snow peas and cucumber crudités around the mound and a beautiful piece of seasoned chicken breast on the opposite side of the plate. Even though in retrospect, this is a relatively small act, it has the girls and I talking about it over most of dinner.

I am a complete sucker when it comes to my partner looking after me. It goes to show that food and doing something for the ones you love is a great medium for you show how you feel about them. You don’t have to spend a lot of money and constantly make grand gestures to create the most cherished memories in life. It can easily be how you spend your time together and how you treat each other.

Remember that its all about the little things!

Leave a Reply

